2022 Trash and Recycling Information

Services Handled by the Township Department of Public Works


Brush Pickup

Brush pickup during April and October, weather permitting. There is no fee for this service. You must sign up for collection to more efficiently schedule pick–ups. Please visit our website, andovertwp.org to view the schedule and download the application, or call 973-383-4280 to have the form emailed. The form is also available at the Municipal Building. Applications will not be accepted after the cut off dates of March 31 for the April Brush collection and September 30 for the October Brush collection.

Please note the following: Brush, including, but not limited to, all branches, bulky tree limbs, and tree trunks, must be deposited in a 4'x4'x6' pile with cut ends facing the road and placed at the curb. If curb does not exist, brush shall be placed near the street but not on the street pavement itself. Brush should not be placed closer than ten (10) feet from any storm drain inlet. The following items will not be collected: leaves, grass clippings, vines, bamboo, or tall landscape grasses.

NOTE: Brush pick up is for our residents’ convenience when clearing away overgrown trees and bushes, or when storm damage occurs. Any commercially cut trees or bushes causing an abundance of brush will not be picked up by our DPW crew. The SCMUA Recycling Center located on Rte. 94 in Lafayette is available to all residents. The phone number is 973-579-6998.


Leaf Pickup

The entire month of November. Leaves must be in brown paper bags or other biodegradable bags. No sign up required.


Christmas Tree Drop-Off

During the Month of January, trees should be brought to the lower parking lot at Hillside Park, Lake Iliff Road. When weather permits, the trees will be chipped into mulch and will be available to all residents. Christmas trees will not be picked up curbside.


Waste Oil Drop-Off

The last Friday of each month between the hours of 8 AM and 10 AM at the Municipal Garage (upper parking lot). The dates are only changed if a holiday falls on the last Friday.


Plastic Bags

Plastic Bags should not be thrown out in trash or with recyclables. They can be recycled at most grocery and department stores.


Bulk/Trash

BULK: 350-pound limit. TRASH: Limit of two (2) 32-gallon containers.


Fiber

Bundled together and tied or put in a container. Cardboard, Newspapers, Magazines, Mail/Paper, Food, and tissues boxes. See calendar for pickup schedule.


Commingled

Glass, Plastic, Aluminum, Tin, and wax-coated containers. See calendar for pickup schedule.


Appliance and Metal Pickup

Freon must be removed. Call to schedule pick-up the last Wednesday of each month.


SCUMA INFORMATION

Sussex County Municipal Utility Authority     scmua.org


Styrofoam

SCMUA has successfully instituted a Styrofoam recycling program. Sussex County residents can bring Styrofoam to the SCMUA for recycling. At this time Styrofoam cannot be put with commingled recycling, so if you don’t want to make the trip to SCMUA, Styrofoam will continue to be put with household trash (even if there is a recycling triangle on it).


Rechargeable Battery Recycling

Rechargeable batteries (Ni-Cd, Ni-MH, Li-ion, Ni-Zn, small sealed lead less than 11 lbs.) can be recycled at the SCMUA.


Non-rechargeable Single-Use Batteries

When primary cell/non-rechargeable (AA, AAA, C, D, 6V, 9V, 1.5V) batteries are discharged, it is appropriate to put them in the trash or bring them to the SCMUA for disposal.


Please note: Batteries will no longer be accepted at the municipal building.


Paper Shredding

Third Friday of every month at the SCMUA from 9AM to 12PM; $6 minimum, no limits, cash or checks only.


Mixed Rigid Plastics (MRP)

Storage containers, tubs, shelving, toys (houses, cars, trikes), buckets, crates, laundry baskets, and lawn furniture can be brought to the SCMUA. Material is weighed and SCMUA charges a disposal fee.


Tires and Construction Debris

Must be brought to the SCMUA. It is not in the township contract with the hauler, so it will not be picked up at the curb. However, if you are replacing a broken sink or toilet, that can be put at the curb.


Electronics

Not to be put curbside—Must be properly recycled. The SCMUA (Sussex County Municipal Utility Authority in Lafayette) and all landfills have been notified by the state that landfill disposal of electronics is prohibited (NJ mandate effective: January 1, 2011).

SCMUA periodically offers free e-cycle days. If electronics are brought to the landfill any other time, the weight of the item(s) will determine the cost. NJ DEP has an “E-cycling” website: state.nj.us/dep/dshw/recycling/ewaste.html


2022 Pickup Schedule

Click here for printable curbside pickup schedule.

Trash and Recycling must be placed at the curb by 4:00 AM the day of scheduled pickup


Date Day Type Pickup

January

Christmas Tree Dropoff

Jan. 4 Tuesday Commingled
Jan. 5 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Jan. 11 Tuesday Fiber
Jan. 12 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Jan. 18 Tuesday Commingled
Jan. 19 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Jan. 25 Tuesday Fiber
Jan. 26 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

February

Feb. 1 Tuesday Commingled
Feb. 2 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Feb. 8 Tuesday Fiber
Feb. 9 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Feb. 15 Tuesday Commingled
Feb. 16 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Feb. 22 Tuesday Fiber
Feb. 23 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

March

Mar. 1 Tuesday Commingled
Mar. 2 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Mar. 8 Tuesday Fiber
Mar. 9 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Mar. 15 Tuesday Commingled
Mar. 16 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Mar. 22 Tuesday Fiber
Mar. 23 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Mar. 29 Tuesday Commingled
Mar. 30 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

April

Curbside Brush Pickup

Apr. 5 Tuesday Fiber
Apr. 6 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Apr. 12 Tuesday Commingled
Apr. 13 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Apr. 19 Tuesday Fiber
Apr. 20 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Apr. 26 Tuesday Commingled
Apr. 27 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

May

May 3 Tuesday Fiber
May 4 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
May 10 Tuesday Commingled
May 11 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
May 17 Tuesday Fiber
May 18 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
May 24 Tuesday Commingled
May 25 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal
May 31 Tuesday Fiber

June

June 1 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
June 7 Tuesday Commingled
June 8 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
June 14 Tuesday Fiber
June 15 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
June 21 Tuesday Commingled
June 22 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
June 28 Tuesday Commingled
June 29 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

July

July 5 Tuesday Commingled
July 6 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
July 12 Tuesday Fiber
July 13 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
July 19 Tuesday Commingled
July 20 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
July 26 Tuesday Fiber
July 27 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

August

Aug. 2 Tuesday Commingled
Aug. 3 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Aug. 9 Tuesday Fiber
Aug. 10 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Aug. 16 Tuesday Commingled
Aug. 17 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Aug. 23 Tuesday Fiber
Aug. 24 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Aug. 30 Tuesday Commingled
Aug. 31 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

September

Sept. 6 Tuesday Fiber
Sept. 7 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Sept. 13 Tuesday Commingled
Sept. 14 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Sept. 20 Tuesday Fiber
Sept. 21 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Sept. 27 Tuesday Commingled
Sept. 28 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

October

Curbside Brush Pickup

Oct. 4 Tuesday Fiber
Oct. 5 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Oct. 11 Tuesday Commingled
Oct. 12 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Oct. 18 Tuesday Fiber
Oct. 19 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Oct. 25 Tuesday Commingled
Oct. 26 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

November

Curbside Leaf Pickup

Nov. 1 Tuesday Fiber
Nov. 2 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Nov. 8 Tuesday Commingled
Nov. 9 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Nov. 15 Tuesday Fiber
Nov. 16 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Nov. 22 Tuesday Commingled
Nov. 23 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Nov. 29 Tuesday Fiber
Nov. 30 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

December

Dec. 6 Tuesday Commingled
Dec. 7 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Dec. 13 Tuesday Fiber
Dec. 14 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Dec. 20 Tuesday Commingled
Dec. 21 Wednesday Trash, Bulk
Dec. 27 Tuesday Fiber
Dec. 28 Wednesday Trash, Bulk, Metal

Copyright Andover Township · Custom website design by JPerlee Design